Home Science & Technology March equinox 2015: Spring begins in Northern Hemisphere on March 20

March equinox 2015: Spring begins in Northern Hemisphere on March 20


Spring has officially begun in the Northern Hemisphere with the vernal equinox on Friday, March 20.

The March equinox occurs when the Sun crosses the celestial equator on its way north along the ecliptic.  In the Northern Hemisphere, the March equinox is known as the vernal, or spring, equinox, and marks the start of the spring season.

In the Southern Hemisphere, this equinox is known as the autumnal, or fall, equinox and marks the start of the fall season. The vernal equinox for the Southern Hemisphere occurs in September.Spring equinox 2015

The March equinox happens at the same moment across the world but is converted to local time. In 2015, it falls on March 20 at 6:45 P.M. EDT, 5:45 P.M. CDT, 4:45 P.M. MDT, and 3:45 P.M. PDT.

In 2015, the spring equinox has the unusual distinction of coinciding with both a supermoon and a total solar eclipse. According to timeanddate.com, there hasn’t been a solar eclipse on either the March or September equinox since 1662.

[youtube tKWeFRQWXh0 650]