Home Science & Technology Facebook unveils Unfollow button

Facebook unveils Unfollow button


Facebook unveils the “Unfollow” button which work in the same way that users were able to “Hide All” from friends in the past, simply with new phrasing, TechCrunch reported.

The idea is that users can block content they don’t want to see from their friends without going so far as defriending them.

In the past, the “Hide All” option pretty much did the same thing, keeping all updates from a user hidden, a discreet way to make someone disappear from your virtual life without the awkwardness of unfriending them.

Facebook unveils the "Unfollow" button

Facebook unveils the “Unfollow” button

On Facebook, you can already unfollow news organizations and people you are following but are not friends with. The ability to unfollow all users will simply standardize the language across the site, not to mention add an element of schadenfreude when banishing exes from your News Feed.

Find an update from someone you don’t want to follow anymore, click on the drop-down menu on the top-right corner of the post, and select “Unfollow”.


The unfollow option is the much the less confrontational way of making someone disappear, since they won’t be notified of your secret vote of disinterest and will still see you in their friends list.

Nancy is a young, full of life lady who joined the team shortly after the BelleNews site started to run. She is focused on bringing up to light all the latest news from the technology industry. In her opinion the hi-tech expresses the humanity intellectual level. Nancy is an active person; she enjoys sports and delights herself in doing gardening in her spare time, as well as reading, always searching for new topics for her articles.