Home Science & Technology Venus Transit 2012 Timing

Venus Transit 2012 Timing


Venus is set to move across the face of the Sun as viewed from Earth in a more than six-and-a-half-hour transit, which starts just after 22.00 GMT on Tuesday.

The transit is a very rare astronomical phenomenon that will not be witnessed again until 2117.

Observers will position themselves in northwest America, the Pacific, and East Asia to catch the whole event.

Venus is set to move across the face of the Sun as viewed from Earth in a more than six-and-a-half-hour transit, which starts just after 22.00 GMT on Tuesday

Venus is set to move across the face of the Sun as viewed from Earth in a more than six-and-a-half-hour transit, which starts just after 22.00 GMT on Tuesday

Times for the start of Venus transit will vary by a few minutes depending on one’s location

• The timings given here are calculated for a viewing position at the Earth’s centre

• Venus is seen to first touch (1) the edge of the Sun’s disc at 22:09 GMT (23:09 BST)

• It is completely on the disc (2) by 22:27 GMT (23:27 BST). The transit lasts over six hours

• Come Wednesday by 04:31 GMT (05:31 BST), Venus is touching the disc’s far side (3)

• At 04:49 GMT (05:49 BST), Venus has left the disc (4). The next transit is on 11 December 2117

 [youtube zE0NDEGQQwU]

James is a professor in Science. His writing skills brought him to BelleNews. He enjoys writing articles for the Science and Technology category. James often finds himself reading about the latest gadgets as the topic is very appealing to him. He likes reading and listening to classical music.